The Deal on Cite & Release in Dallas
Updated: Sep 18, 2018
Dallas Ft. Worth Academy of Cannabis Science wanted to take a few moments of our time to make sure that our community has the real facts on the Cite and Release Program in Dallas. We found that many of our students at our Medical Cannabis Investment Seminar had misconceptions about this program, so we feel it is our duty to set the record straight.
DFW Academy of Cannabis Science students had the pleasure of learning some of the Texas Medical Cannabis Laws from Megan Roper of Roper & Mehler, Dopest Lawyers in Town. Megan let us know that the Cite and Release program does NOT change your charges. If a Dallas police officer decides not to take you into custody, they will write you a ticket to appear in court to face your charges. When you show up to your court date the penalties for marijuana possession will remain the same: up to 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,000 for holding less than 2 ounces, and up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $4,000 for possessing between 2 and 4 ounces of marijuana.
Again, Issuing a ticket instead of taking you into custody is at the DP officers discretion. The officer's discretion will be affected if you are committing an additional crime, on probation or if there is probable cause. This program also doesn't apply if you are to travel outside Dallas county into surrounding cities. All the Cite and Release program was designed to do is to keep DP officers from having to physically take you into custody for marijuana possession charges under 4 ounces. However, Cite and Release are better than an impounded car and a night in jail. If you have any questions on the Cite and Release Program, please leave a comment, and we will answer it for you.
If you have a possession charge and need a lawyer, please call 888-DOPE-420 to reach Roper & Mehler, Dopest Lawyers in Town.
There is so much to learn about the cannabis industry in Texas; we will explore all the medical cannabis laws, the science behind cannabis as a medication, and how you can make LEGAL money in the cannabis industry all in our 5-week courses.
Our 5-Week courses start on NOVEMBER 10th! To enroll, please visit our webpage at www.dfwacademyofcannabisscience.com/enroll or call (469) 984-3399.